Skip to content

T40MS Torque

T40MS: sensors and measurement devices by HBK for torque.

This series on the HBK site (opens in a new tab)

Shared technical specifications for the series

Properties every model in the series has. What differs is in the models table below.

Range across models

The span covered by the models of the series together — not the range of each model.

Range across the models of T40MS
Accuracy (% FSO) 0.03–0.05 %
Torque range -2000–2000 Nm
ADC sampling rate 1000–20000 samples/s

Models in the series

One column per model: what differs between the models of the series.

Models of T40MS compared by parameter
Parameter T40MS eli-m-a2f11ba56654570b7db05e17 T40MS-1kNm eli-m-2221d27e952f21455e09dd5d T40MS-200Nm eli-m-04c164cc1386e24f44591473 T40MS-2kNm eli-m-db1020d507a22a2d4382657c T40MS-500Nm eli-m-9f3fd42b384e0afaf2527ba5
interface_specification Unknown Digital I/O Digital I/O Digital I/O Digital I/O
Accuracy (% FSO) 0.03 % 0.05 % 0.05 % 0.05 % 0.05 %
quantity_specification Configurable family; exact public ordering-code table not exposed on the current HBK page. ±1 kNm rated torque; rotating installation; maximum 30,000 rpm ±200 Nm rated torque; rotating installation; maximum 30,000 rpm ±2 kNm rated torque; rotating installation; maximum 30,000 rpm ±500 Nm rated torque; rotating installation; maximum 30,000 rpm
Maximum rotational speed Not specified 30000 rpm 30000 rpm 30000 rpm 30000 rpm
source_repeatability_basis Not specified "Relative standard deviation of repeatability per DIN 1319, relative to variation of output signal; source limits are < ±0.03% for both output modes." "Relative standard deviation of repeatability per DIN 1319, relative to variation of output signal; source limits are < ±0.03% for both output modes." "Relative standard deviation of repeatability per DIN 1319, relative to variation of output signal; source limits are < ±0.03% for both output modes." "Relative standard deviation of repeatability per DIN 1319, relative to variation of output signal; source limits are < ±0.03% for both output modes."
source_linearity_basis Not specified "Non-linearity including hysteresis, relative to nominal sensitivity, by torque band and frequency/voltage output." "Non-linearity including hysteresis, relative to nominal sensitivity, by torque band and frequency/voltage output." "Non-linearity including hysteresis, relative to nominal sensitivity, by torque band and frequency/voltage output." "Non-linearity including hysteresis, relative to nominal sensitivity, by torque band and frequency/voltage output."
source_sampling_rate_basis Not specified TIM-PN bus cycle; transducer bandwidth and selected filters remain limiting factors TIM-PN bus cycle; transducer bandwidth and selected filters remain limiting factors TIM-EC bus cycle; transducer bandwidth and selected filters remain limiting factors TIM40 bus cycle; transducer bandwidth and selected filters remain limiting factors
Protection class (DIN EN 60529) Not specified ip54 ip54 ip54 ip54
Torque range Not specified -1000–1000 Nm -200–200 Nm -2000–2000 Nm -500–500 Nm
source_torque_speed_measurement Not specified True True True True
Operating temperature Not specified -20–85 °C -20–85 °C -20–85 °C -20–85 °C
ADC sampling rate Not specified 1000 samples/s 20000 samples/s 20000 samples/s 4000 samples/s
Interfaces Not specified ethercat ethernet ethercat profinet
Status Active Active Active Active Active

The industries we serve

Frequently asked questions

Answers to the most common questions about our products and services

No. The family brochure’s 6 kHz at −3 dB describes frequency response. TIM-EC separately specifies a bus rate up to 20 kHz. Evaluate both for the selected system path.

No. TMC is the torque measurement communication interface. The brochure identifies separate TIM modules: TIM-EC for EtherCAT and TIM-PN for PROFINET. Select the corresponding adapter.

The brochure identifies lightweight titanium construction and one rotor size for the documented torque ranges. This does not mean all capacities share sensitivity or calibration.

No. The brochure’s torque ranges describe distinct nominal-capacity versions. Select the rotor model and speed envelope for the system.

The brochure lists a speed/reference system with 128 or 512 pulses/revolution. Associate pulse count with the selected ordering option.

Didn't find the answer you were looking for?

Talk to an expert

More information

Get a quote or advice

Tell us what you need and an engineer will come back to you.

Request a quote for this product
What would you like to ask for?

Email or phone — one of them is enough

Email or phone — one of them is enough

0 of 500 words