U2B Force
U2B: sensors and measurement devices by HBK for force.
Visit the HBK site (opens in a new tab)
Shared technical specifications for the series
Properties every model in the series has. What differs is in the models table below.
| Ordering options and constraints | K-U2B- — capacity: 112 lbf, 225 lbf, 450 lbf, 1.12 klbf, 2.25 klbf, 4.5 klbf, 11.2 klbf, 22.5 klbf, 45 klbf; output_signal: mV/V (passive strain gauge), Voltage (0…10V), Current (4-20mA), IO-Link; height_without_accessories: 2.83 in, 4.41 in, 5.55 in, 7.76 in, 9.13 in; diameter_without_cable_or_plug: 5.31495 in, 1.9685 in, 6.10235 in, 3.5433 in, 3.937 in; constraints: [] |
|---|
Range across models
The span covered by the models of the series together — not the range of each model.
| Protection class (DIN EN 60529) | ip67 |
|---|---|
| Force range | 0–20000 N |
| Interfaces | io_link |
| Operating temperature | -30–85 °C |
| Nominal force capacity | 500–200000 N |
Models in the series
One column per model: what differs between the models of the series.
| Parameter | 1-U2B/100KN eli-m-276a703ed2b85137f2b95244 | 1-U2B/10KN eli-m-f678165be6e6d8682d4e3c03 | 1-U2B/1KN eli-m-a2c4bdbddd2a1e67a4f9b2d1 | 1-U2B/200KN eli-m-f424077222d94abc69e1415b | 1-U2B/20KN eli-m-590fc579e1a34246aecfccf0 | 1-U2B/2KN eli-m-78e9c0498de255c47d75c265 | 1-U2B/500N eli-m-1bf15fda437ff0be7f956c1c | 1-U2B/50KN eli-m-7ca21d833cf790ce4a6715d0 | 1-U2B/5KN eli-m-6f8639ebe633599b7a244839 | K-U2B- · 1 kN eli-m-d4bc296d781b82932bb4cc3b | K-U2B- · 10 kN eli-m-d337bcef9b4cf567ec8413b4 | K-U2B- · 100 kN eli-m-2edd8bf6fa0a01503366f630 | K-U2B- · 2 kN eli-m-d91cffa3aba944f973e3de1c | K-U2B- · 20 kN eli-m-951e3bd3e6c2392b93548871 | K-U2B- · 200 kN eli-m-dd1d84af5d4c54fa7a66dc74 | K-U2B- · 5 kN eli-m-0c6797ae8f1dfeadb42e0f42 | K-U2B- · 50 kN eli-m-34df4ae40b755c5b99996c8f | K-U2B- · 500 N eli-m-df2dbb2d29574d97b59d50d1 | U2B-0p5kN eli-m-3e19a27a3e60b08655cc0fea | U2B-100kN eli-m-43213930a40c2500c53c1fb6 | U2B-10kN eli-m-a81a15e30d3cc5f7851b2f26 | U2B-1kN eli-m-56c6918a54778c1a7e419db2 | U2B-200kN eli-m-0cb73db68d470019d409949c | U2B-20kN eli-m-b2cd42c4d56d3ba05bfa799d | U2B-2kN eli-m-bf9af61fe40aa55ecab5a70e | U2B-50kN eli-m-586e632b67076fab80e1226c | U2B-5kN eli-m-6192aab0c1ba66a502415c55 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Protection class (DIN EN 60529) | ip67 | ip67 | ip67 | ip67 | ip67 | ip67 | ip67 | ip67 | ip67 | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | ip67 | ip67 | ip67 | ip67 | ip67 | ip67 | ip67 | ip67 | ip67 |
| Force range | 0–100000 N | -10000–10000 N | 0–1000 N | 0–200000 N | 0–20000 N | 0–2000 N | -500–500 N | 0–50000 N | 0–5000 N | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | -500–500 N | -100000–100000 N | -10000–10000 N | -1000–1000 N | -200000–200000 N | -20000–20000 N | -2000–2000 N | -50000–50000 N | -5000–5000 N |
| Interfaces | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | ethercat | ethercat | ethercat | ethercat | ethercat | io_link | ethercat | io_link | io_link |
| Operating temperature | -30–85 °C | -30–85 °C | -30–85 °C | -30–85 °C | -30–85 °C | -30–85 °C | -30–85 °C | -30–85 °C | -30–85 °C | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | -30–85 °C | -30–85 °C | -30–85 °C | -30–85 °C | -30–85 °C | -30–85 °C | -30–85 °C | -30–85 °C | -30–85 °C |
| Force range | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified |
| interface_specification | Unknown | Unknown | Unknown | Unknown | Unknown | Unknown | Unknown | Unknown | Unknown | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified |
| quantity_specification | Maximum capacity (nominal load): 22.5 klbf; Output signal: mV/V (passive strain gauge); Height (without accessories): 7.76 in; Diameter (without cable or plug): 5.31495 in | Maximum capacity (nominal load): 2.25 klbf; Output signal: mV/V (passive strain gauge); Height (without accessories): 2.83 in; Diameter (without cable or plug): 1.9685 in | Maximum capacity (nominal load): 225 lbf; Output signal: mV/V (passive strain gauge); Height (without accessories): 2.83 in; Diameter (without cable or plug): 1.9685 in | Maximum capacity (nominal load): 44.5 klbf; Output signal: mV/V (passive strain gauge); Height (without accessories): 9.13 in; Diameter (without cable or plug): 6.10235 in | Maximum capacity (nominal load): 4.5 klbf; Output signal: mV/V (passive strain gauge); Height (without accessories): 4.41 in; Diameter (without cable or plug): 3.5433 in | Maximum capacity (nominal load): 450 lbf; Output signal: mV/V (passive strain gauge); Height (without accessories): 2.83 in; Diameter (without cable or plug): 1.9685 in | Maximum capacity (nominal load): 112 lbf; Output signal: mV/V (passive strain gauge); Height (without accessories): 2.83 in; Diameter (without cable or plug): 1.9685 in | Maximum capacity (nominal load): 11.2 klbf; Output signal: mV/V (passive strain gauge); Height (without accessories): 5.55 in; Diameter (without cable or plug): 3.937 in | Maximum capacity (nominal load): 1.12 klbf; Output signal: mV/V (passive strain gauge); Height (without accessories): 2.83 in; Diameter (without cable or plug): 1.9685 in | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | 0.5 kN rated capacity = 500 N (50.9858 kg mass equivalent at standard gravity); compression and tension | 100 kN rated capacity = 100 kN (10.1972 t mass equivalent at standard gravity); compression and tension | 10 kN rated capacity = 10 kN (1.0197 t mass equivalent at standard gravity); compression and tension | 1 kN rated capacity = 1 kN (101.9716 kg mass equivalent at standard gravity); compression and tension | 200 kN rated capacity = 200 kN (20.3943 t mass equivalent at standard gravity); compression and tension | 20 kN rated capacity = 20 kN (2.0394 t mass equivalent at standard gravity); compression and tension | 2 kN rated capacity = 2 kN (203.9432 kg mass equivalent at standard gravity); compression and tension | 50 kN rated capacity = 50 kN (5.0986 t mass equivalent at standard gravity); compression and tension | 5 kN rated capacity = 5 kN (509.8581 kg mass equivalent at standard gravity); compression and tension |
| Selected configuration options | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | 1 kN nominal force capacity | 10 kN nominal force capacity | 100 kN nominal force capacity | 2 kN nominal force capacity | 20 kN nominal force capacity | 200 kN nominal force capacity | 5 kN nominal force capacity | 50 kN nominal force capacity | 500 N nominal force capacity | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified |
| Nominal force capacity | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | 1000 N | 10000 N | 100000 N | 2000 N | 20000 N | 200000 N | 5000 N | 50000 N | 500 N | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified |
| Accuracy (% FSO) | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | 0.2 % | 0.2 % | 0.2 % | 0.2 % | 0.2 % | 0.2 % | 0.2 % | 0.2 % | 0.2 % |
| ADC sampling rate | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | 1111 samples/s | 1111 samples/s | 1111 samples/s | 1111 samples/s | 1111 samples/s | 1111 samples/s | 1111 samples/s | 1111 samples/s | 1111 samples/s |
| source_sampling_rate_basis | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | 0.9 ms minimum IO-Link process-data cycle; the sensor electronics sample internally at 40 kHz | 0.9 ms minimum IO-Link process-data cycle; the sensor electronics sample internally at 40 kHz | 0.9 ms minimum IO-Link process-data cycle; the sensor electronics sample internally at 40 kHz | 0.9 ms minimum IO-Link process-data cycle; the sensor electronics sample internally at 40 kHz | 0.9 ms minimum IO-Link process-data cycle; the sensor electronics sample internally at 40 kHz | 0.9 ms minimum IO-Link process-data cycle; the sensor electronics sample internally at 40 kHz | 0.9 ms minimum IO-Link process-data cycle; the sensor electronics sample internally at 40 kHz | 0.9 ms minimum IO-Link process-data cycle; the sensor electronics sample internally at 40 kHz | 0.9 ms minimum IO-Link process-data cycle; the sensor electronics sample internally at 40 kHz |
| Status | Active | Active | Active | Active | Active | Active | Active | Active | Active | Active | Active | Active | Active | Active | Active | Active | Active | Active | Active | Active | Active | Active | Active | Active | Active | Active | Active |
| Datasheet | PDF — K-U2B- · 1 kN (opens in a new tab) | PDF — K-U2B- · 10 kN (opens in a new tab) | PDF — K-U2B- · 100 kN (opens in a new tab) | PDF — K-U2B- · 2 kN (opens in a new tab) | PDF — K-U2B- · 20 kN (opens in a new tab) | PDF — K-U2B- · 200 kN (opens in a new tab) | PDF — K-U2B- · 5 kN (opens in a new tab) | PDF — K-U2B- · 50 kN (opens in a new tab) | PDF — K-U2B- · 500 N (opens in a new tab) |
The industries we serve
Frequently asked questions
Answers to the most common questions about our products and services
U2B uses strain gauges to measure tensile and compressive forces in static and dynamic applications.
No. Alongside passive versions, integrated-amplifier versions provide voltage or current output. Select the version for the measurement chain.
The manufacturer specifies IP67 and stainless-steel construction for U2B.
It denotes the integrated amplifier’s bandwidth, not an ADC sampling rate.
It reduces the influence of lateral forces and bending moments on the force result. It does not remove mechanical load limits; design force introduction according to the installation instructions and selected capacity.
Get a quote or advice
Tell us what you need and an engineer will come back to you.