U3 Force
U3: sensors and measurement devices by HBK for force.
This series on the HBK site (opens in a new tab)
Shared technical specifications for the series
Properties every model in the series has. What differs is in the models table below.
Range across models
The span covered by the models of the series together — not the range of each model.
| Force range | -100000–100000 N |
|---|---|
| ADC sampling rate | 450–40000 samples/s |
Models in the series
One column per model: what differs between the models of the series.
| Parameter | 1-U3/0.5KN eli-m-3feb86fadb96ec2bee8b878c | 1-U3/100KN eli-m-ca3e14821a472e891210cf31 | 1-U3/10KN eli-m-6f4ca97372636743cfcd846b | 1-U3/1KN eli-m-8b62be5db304ddf1b28fefb2 | 1-U3/20KN eli-m-9034e2de73991ef6e4d2096f | 1-U3/2KN eli-m-a516d9e34c0dfe0a856f8da7 | 1-U3/50KN eli-m-54f47997acaeca3445755ee8 | 1-U3/5KN eli-m-462b1ba23e018061c0a4f160 | U3-0p5kN eli-m-859b4fadcaa30f9b4f996ea6 | U3-100kN eli-m-38b4724dbbe6d1e4a9500e4a | U3-10kN eli-m-714f9a56abd127b60fcb3315 | U3-1kN eli-m-9de3e010857b0401192ce4b8 | U3-20kN eli-m-ef7c9d1edb266af4d6d5bb4d | U3-2kN eli-m-02424cf43bcbd0a09b7a65a3 | U3-50kN eli-m-45583ab0c8ad0e8b1e44d4b0 | U3-5kN eli-m-44d604719294762bef733dab |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| quantity_specification | Maximum capacity (nominal load): 1.12 klbf; Height (without accessories): 1.85 in; Diameter (without cable or plug): 2.12598 in | Maximum capacity (nominal load): 22.5 klbf; Height (without accessories): 2.83 in; Diameter (without cable or plug): 3.74015 in | Maximum capacity (nominal load): 2.25 klbf; Height (without accessories): 1.85 in; Diameter (without cable or plug): 2.12598 in | Maximum capacity (nominal load): 225 lbf; Height (without accessories): 1.85 in; Diameter (without cable or plug): 2.12598 in | Maximum capacity (nominal load): 4.5 klbf; Height (without accessories): 2.83 in; Diameter (without cable or plug): 3.74015 in | Maximum capacity (nominal load): 450 lbf; Height (without accessories): 1.85 in; Diameter (without cable or plug): 2.12598 in | Maximum capacity (nominal load): 11.2 klbf; Height (without accessories): 2.83 in; Diameter (without cable or plug): 3.74015 in | Maximum capacity (nominal load): 1.12 klbf; Height (without accessories): 1.85 in; Diameter (without cable or plug): 2.12598 in | 0.5 kN rated capacity = 500 N (50.9858 kg mass equivalent at standard gravity); compression and tension | 100 kN rated capacity = 100 kN (10.1972 t mass equivalent at standard gravity); compression and tension | 10 kN rated capacity = 10 kN (1.0197 t mass equivalent at standard gravity); compression and tension | 1 kN rated capacity = 1 kN (101.9716 kg mass equivalent at standard gravity); compression and tension | 20 kN rated capacity = 20 kN (2.0394 t mass equivalent at standard gravity); compression and tension | 2 kN rated capacity = 2 kN (203.9432 kg mass equivalent at standard gravity); compression and tension | 50 kN rated capacity = 50 kN (5.0986 t mass equivalent at standard gravity); compression and tension | 5 kN rated capacity = 5 kN (509.8581 kg mass equivalent at standard gravity); compression and tension |
| interface_specification | Unknown | Unknown | Unknown | Unknown | Unknown | Unknown | Unknown | Unknown | RS422 / RS485 | RS422 / RS485 | Analog 0-10V | Analog 0-10V | Digital I/O | Digital I/O | Analog 0-10V | RS422 / RS485 |
| Force range | 0–500 N | 0–100000 N | 0–10000 N | 0–1000 N | 0–20000 N | 0–2000 N | 0–50000 N | 0–5000 N | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified |
| Force range | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | -500–500 N | -100000–100000 N | -10000–10000 N | -1000–1000 N | -20000–20000 N | -2000–2000 N | -50000–50000 N | -5000–5000 N |
| Interfaces | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | ethernet | ethernet | profinet | ethernet | ethernet | profinet | ethernet | ethernet |
| ADC sampling rate | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | 450 samples/s | 19200 samples/s | 40000 samples/s | 40000 samples/s | 450 samples/s | 450 samples/s | 19200 samples/s | 40000 samples/s |
| Accuracy (% FSO) | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | 0.2 % | 0.2 % | 0.2 % | 0.2 % | 0.2 % | 0.2 % | 0.2 % | 0.2 % |
| source_sampling_rate_basis | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | ClipX fixed internal sampling rate; verify the configured filter and usable output bandwidth | MX840B maximum per-channel sample rate; sensor mechanics and filter settings can reduce usable bandwidth | ClipX fixed internal sampling rate; verify the configured filter and usable output bandwidth | ClipX fixed internal sampling rate; verify the configured filter and usable output bandwidth | MX840B maximum per-channel sample rate; sensor mechanics and filter settings can reduce usable bandwidth | DMP41 selectable result rate, intended for reference and calibration measurements | MX840B maximum per-channel sample rate; sensor mechanics and filter settings can reduce usable bandwidth | MX840B maximum per-channel sample rate; sensor mechanics and filter settings can reduce usable bandwidth |
| Status | Active | Active | Active | Active | Active | Active | Active | Active | Active | Active | Active | Active | Active | Active | Active | Active |
The industries we serve
Frequently asked questions
Answers to the most common questions about our products and services
Yes. HBM specifies U3 for tensile and compressive force measurement, with flange connections on both sides. Match rated capacity and mounting to the selected model.
No. HBM's table gives a static lateral limit of 100% of rated force for 0.5–20 kN models, 80% for 50 kN and 50% for 100 kN. Check the exact capacity.
The table specifies 2 mV/V nominal sensitivity and a six-wire connection. Use a compatible strain-gauge amplifier with excitation, rather than only an industrial voltage input.
Its table specifies IP65 to DIN EN 60529. Stainless-steel construction does not justify changing that rating to IP67 or IP68.
Read the separate table rows. The manufacturer distinguishes compressive and tensile linearity and capacity groups. Accuracy class 0.2 does not replace those individual specifications.
Get a quote or advice
Tell us what you need and an engineer will come back to you.