Z4A Force
Z4A: sensors and measurement devices by HBK for force.
This series on the HBK site (opens in a new tab)
Shared technical specifications for the series
Properties every model in the series has. What differs is in the models table below.
Range across models
The span covered by the models of the series together — not the range of each model.
| Force range | -500000–500000 N |
|---|---|
| ADC sampling rate | 450–40000 samples/s |
Models in the series
One column per model: what differs between the models of the series.
| Parameter | 1-Z4A/100KN eli-m-43972b93ba011b7592a744ae | 1-Z4A/200KN eli-m-1174c85a94b883b0bb805711 | 1-Z4A/20KN eli-m-659ee8cf8d97aeeffc439487 | 1-Z4A/500KN eli-m-f4d4adf0330be842dc66e28f | 1-Z4A/50KN eli-m-dc3b61bec1bc39ac9d46377c | Z4A-100kN eli-m-9dc7c84772b74f876b349c81 | Z4A-200kN eli-m-093e81d33f32b6ee8c6a5f09 | Z4A-20kN eli-m-be78fe2a4d2534592db1fb58 | Z4A-500kN eli-m-ed853eb61cd6ac928c12515a | Z4A-50kN eli-m-195983ed81309009abf08d2e |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Force range | 0–100000 N | 0–200000 N | 0–20000 N | 0–500000 N | 0–50000 N | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified |
| quantity_specification | Maximum capacity (nominal load): 22.5 klbf; Height (without accessories): 4.21 in; Diameter (without cable or plug): 5.75 in | Maximum capacity (nominal load): 45 klbf; Height (without accessories): 5.39 in; Diameter (without cable or plug): 7.09 in | Maximum capacity (nominal load): 4.5 klbf; Height (without accessories): 3.05 in; Diameter (without cable or plug): 4.53 in | Maximum capacity (nominal load): 112 klbf; Height (without accessories): 9.84 in; Diameter (without cable or plug): 10.83 in | Maximum capacity (nominal load): 11.2 klbf; Height (without accessories): 3.27 in; Diameter (without cable or plug): 4.72 in | 100 kN rated capacity = 100 kN (10.1972 t mass equivalent at standard gravity); compression and tension | 200 kN rated capacity = 200 kN (20.3943 t mass equivalent at standard gravity); compression and tension | 20 kN rated capacity = 20 kN (2.0394 t mass equivalent at standard gravity); compression and tension | 500 kN rated capacity = 500 kN (50.9858 t mass equivalent at standard gravity); compression and tension | 50 kN rated capacity = 50 kN (5.0986 t mass equivalent at standard gravity); compression and tension |
| interface_specification | Unknown | Unknown | Unknown | Unknown | Unknown | Digital I/O | Digital I/O | Analog 0-10V | Analog 0-10V | Analog 0-10V |
| Force range | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | -100000–100000 N | -200000–200000 N | -20000–20000 N | -500000–500000 N | -50000–50000 N |
| ADC sampling rate | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | 19200 samples/s | 40000 samples/s | 40000 samples/s | 40000 samples/s | 450 samples/s |
| source_sampling_rate_basis | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | MX840B maximum per-channel sample rate; sensor mechanics and filter settings can reduce usable bandwidth | ClipX fixed internal sampling rate; verify the configured filter and usable output bandwidth | DMP41 selectable result rate, intended for reference and calibration measurements | DMP41 selectable result rate, intended for reference and calibration measurements | DMP41 selectable result rate, intended for reference and calibration measurements |
| Interfaces | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | ethernet | ethernet | ethercat | ethernet | ethercat |
| Status | Active | Active | Active | Active | Active | Active | Active | Active | Active | Active |
The industries we serve
Frequently asked questions
Answers to the most common questions about our products and services
No. The page specifies Class 00 but Class 0.5 for 500 kN. Check the model and calibration certificate.
The manufacturer supports whole-chain calibration, including force-application accessories and acquisition electronics, to minimize system measurement uncertainty.
Four measurement points, spaced 90° apart, provide bending-moment compensation.
Yes. Z4A supports both with suitable force-application accessories and calibration.
Its spring element is made in one piece, supporting low hysteresis and good reproducibility in reference measurements. This does not remove the need for suitable force-introduction accessories or measurement-chain calibration.
Get a quote or advice
Tell us what you need and an engineer will come back to you.